Dog Friendly Day Out in The Midlands

NN14 1RP

Telephone: 01536 710761
Telephone: 0870 3331181
Email: Click to send a message

Message has been sent


Get directions to here from:-

Key Info:
1 mile West of Rushton, on unclassified road 3miles from Desborough on A6 (OS Map 141; ref SP 830831). Restricted parking, in lay-by, about 50m from property across a busy road. Picnics welcome in grounds.

This delightful triangular building was designed by Sir Thomas Tresham (father of one of the Gunpowder Plotters) and constructed between 1593 and 1597. It is a testament to Tresham's Roman Catholicism: the number three, symbolising the Holy Trinity, is apparent everywhere. There are three floors, trefoil windows and three triangular gables on each side. On the entrance front is the inscription 'Tres Testimonium Dant' ('there are three that give witness'), a Biblical quotation from St John's Gospel referring to the Trinity.

Opening Times:
Check the English Heritage website for details.

Dog Restrictions:
Dogs on leads are welcome in the grounds only (restricted areas only).

Your message has been sent